Call for Entries: Mohawk’s Annual Design Competition

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Mohawk Show, a design competition that celebrates higher thinking in graphic design, developed for unique individuals who aspire to create communications that combine brilliant design, intelligent paper selection, and superior production.

Since1999, the Mohawk Show has paid tribute to the power of design by recognizing the works of those who turn ideas and visions into extraordinary print communication. Each year, Mohawk brings in a select panel of graphic design professionals to review hundreds of submissions and select five Best of Show winners. Past shows have been judged by representatives from top design firms including Vanderbyl Design, Grant Design Collaborative, Sterling Design, AdamsMorioka, Pentagram, Heller Communication Design, Chen Design, VSA Partners, and many others. (A complete list of all Mohawk Show judges follows.)

This year’s select panel of jurors includes show chair Ellen Lupton, Design/Writing/Research, Maryland; William Drenttel, Partner, Winterhouse, Connecticut; Alice Chung, Partner, Omnivore, New York; and Laurie DeMartino, Principal, Laurie DeMartino Design, Minnesota.

From submissions, jurors will select four Best of Show winners as well as a winner in this year’s special category of specialty processes (engraving, foil stamping, embossing, thermography, die cutting, etc.). Jurors may also award finalists for honorable mention. Best of Show winners will each receive $5,000, and finalists will receive a $500 prize.

All work produced primarily on any Mohawk Fine Papers grade is eligible for entry. There are no entry fees and designers and printers may submit as many entries as they choose. Judging will take place in June 2009 and winners will be announced in early July 2009.

To download a Mohawk Show 10 entry form, or for more information, visit or call 1 800 the mill.

Posted on: July 16, 2008

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.