Panel Picks Winners in Image06 Photo Competition

Image06, a photography competition organized annually by the New York chapter of the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP), has announced the winners for this year’s contest. The contest had two main categories, one for professional photographers and one for students.

In the Professional category, top honors went to Charlotte Oestervang. Interestingly, Oestervang was last year’s winner in the student category. A native of Denmark, in 2000 she earned a bachelor’s degree in fine-art photography from the Academy of Performing Arts, Film and Television in Prague, Czech Republic. She has been a freelance photographer since 2001. Last year, she studied documentary photography at the International Center of Photography in New York City. This fall, she plans to move to Kabul, Afghanistan, to make in-depth stories. You can see more of her work at

This year’s top prize in the Student category went to Amy Stein. A New York City resident and newly minted MFA from the School of Visual Arts, Stein is currently working on a photo series called "Stranded," portraits of people stranded on the side of the road. "To make these images, I basically drive various US highways looking for broken down vehicles," she said. Her portfolio is viewable at

You may view a gallery of all the Image06 winners at

The full list of awards for the Professional category is
1st Prize: Charlotte Oestervang
2nd Prize: Tara Engberg
3rd Prize: Ruth Petzold

Honorable Mention:
Daniel Barry
Sian Kennedy
Terri Gold
Sian Kennedy
Sarah Kell

Judges’ Choices:
Keith Lanpher
Charlotte Oestervang
Gary John Norman
Nick Gorsky
Sian Kennedy

The full list for the Student category is:
1st Prize: Amy Stein
2nd Prize: Deidre Schoo
3rd Prize: Jaime Tardiff

Honorable Mention:
Shawn Lortie
Paul Van Hoy
Samantha Casolari
Jeongmee Yoon
Shawn Lortie

Judges’ Choices:
Jaime Tardiff
Jarrod McCabe
Barbara Runcie
Amy Stein
Jeongmee Yoon

(Note: Photographers were allowed to submit multiple images, which were identified only by a number during the judging. Thus, it was possible for one photographer to win awards for several photographs. Independently, each Judges’ Choice reflected the top pick of a single judge.)

The judges for the Image06 competition spanned a wide range of professional perspectives and artistic interests. They were:
Klitos Teklos, Art Director, Surface magazine
James K. Colton, Photography Editor, Sports Illustrated
Kiana Malekzadeh, Gallerist, Kiana Malekzadeh Gallery
Jeff Kopay, Art Director, Ogilvy
Cristina Spiridakis, Art Buyer, Euro RSCG

Contest sponsors included camera maker FujiFilm Professional Imaging (, lens specialist Tamron (, online photo archive Digital Railroad (, and web site developer CBA Studios (

About ASMP:
Founded in 1944, the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) is the leading trade association for photographers who photograph primarily for publication. ASMP promotes photographers’ rights, educates photographers in better business practices, produces business publications for photographers, and helps buyers find professional photographers. It has more than 5,000 members, including many of the world’s greatest photographers, in 40 chapters nationwide.

Posted on: June 21, 2006

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.