Changes in the Undo string
One of the more controversial changes in ID CS3 has to do with how the Undo commands are recorded.
In previous versions of InDesign a change in the Preview mode or Show/Hide Guides was not added to the Undo string.
In CS3 that behavior is changed.
If you switch from Normal to Preview mode, that step is added to the list of Undo commands.
I’ve been teaching at the ADIM X event in San Jose this week, and the change did not make the crowd happy.
Similarly, there’s been a thread of the User to User forum where people have expressed their frustration.
I’m not happy with the change. For instance, there are many times I toggle back and forth between the Up and Rollover states for buttons. The idea of having to waddle through all those toggles just to get back to a previous action, is not fun.
I think Adobe needs to change the feature to make it a preference. But even with that preference turned on, I would also like to see a History panel to make it easier to jump backwards in time.
This article was last modified on December 18, 2021
This article was first published on April 27, 2007
Commenting is easier and faster when you're logged in!
Recommended for you
Why Are My Hyperlinks Still Working?
Jacob wrote to us with a problem he was having with a file: he was having troubl...
Turning Polygons to Starbursts in InDesign
Drawing starbursts isn't hard, once you know where to look. Plus, check out this...
Version Cue CS3 Disables Mac Firewalls
This isn’t InDesign news, but many of us are now installing InDesign as pa...
