Members Only

Gathering Video Assets for Premiere Projects

Import, acquire, animate, and use AI to generate video content for Premiere

This article appears in Issue 61 of CreativePro Magazine.

If you’re a graphic designer who is new to Premiere, you may not be aware of what you can use as visual assets for your video content. In this article, I’ll give you an overview of:

  • Importing videos
  • Creating content within Premiere
  • Animating still images
  • Using Adobe Firefly to generate video 
  • Extending a clip using generative AI

Creating a Project and Importing Video

To import video and animated clips into Premiere, you have to have a place to put them. You need to open an existing project or create a new one. 

The Home screen offers you two ways to create a new project and get started assembling video files. You can click New Project on the left or Create New Project in the center. You can also choose File > New Project (Figure 1).

Figure 1. You can create a new project in Premiere in two places on the Home screen (left) or by choosing File > New Project (right).

In the New Project dialog box that opens, give your project a name and determine where you want to save your data (Figure 2). If you want to select a template to base the project on, you can do so here too. 

Figure 2. In the New Project dialog box, enter a project name, set the location, set an optional template, and decide whether to skip Import mode.

When you click Create and leave the Skip Import Mode option unchecked, Premiere will open in Import mode (Figure 3), where you can immediately navigate to the asset you want to import, whether it’s on your system’s hard drive, a connected device, a cloud-based source, or a network location.

Figure 3. Premiere opens in Import mode.

Tip: I recommend working on your local hard drive, if possible, to avoid any issues that could potentially break the links to your assets.

Select your files with the assets you want to use and click Import. 

When you select the Skip Import Mode option in the New Project dialog box, Premiere creates a new project and takes you directly to Edit mode (Figure 4). 

Figure 4. Premiere opens in Edit mode.

From here, you can import your assets from the Project panel. (If the Project panel isn’t open, go to Window > Projects and select the name of your project in the submenu.)

Of course, your Project panel will contain no media assets when you start—it will display a blue Import Media button. Click it to navigate to your first media file.

If you’d rather, you can import your files by double-clicking the rectangle below the Edit mode search bar (top left) or by right-clicking there and selecting Importto open the Import dialog box (Figure 5).

Figure 5. In the Project panel, you can click the Import Media button (when there are no other media assets). If you prefer, you can double-click or right-click within the rectangle below the search bar to import assets.

Premiere can import a wide variety of formats, including those from various cameras and phones. You can confirm if a file type is supported in Premiere’s online help.

Video Content Sources

Need a video clip but can’t create your own? Video content is available from many of the same places that offer stock images—and subject to the same rights issues as still images that you didn’t make. If you’re looking for high-quality video that you can use for free while you’re getting started, try:

It is possible to use video and animation from YouTube and Vimeo if the content has a Creative Commons license that allows its use. Creative Commons is an international nonprofit organization that provides licenses for creators to grant permission to other users to use their work. The types of licenses vary and may have some stipulations, such as crediting the creator or not using the content for commercial purposes. You’ll find the search portal for videos (and other types of content) with Creative Commons licensing at search.creativecommons.org.

Creating Content within Premiere

While in Edit mode, you also can create content within Premiere by using various tools, customizing templates, and generating some specific types of assets.

Tools

Look to the Tools panel (Window > Tools) for such content-creation tools as the shape tools (Rectangle, Ellipse, and Polygon tools), the Pen tool, and the Type tool (Figure 6). You can use these to create shapes or masks for animations.


Figure 6. The Tools panel offers multiple ways to create content, such as the Pen tool, the Rectangle tool, the Ellipse tool, the Polygon tool, and the Type tool.

Graphics templates

From the Graphics Templates panel (Window > Graphics Templates), you can choose and customize templates to create such assets as titles, lower thirds, credits, or captions (Figure 7). If the many built-in templates don’t quite fit your needs, you can download more fromAdobe Stock. Simply click the Adobe Stock tab, select either the Free or Premium option, and start browsing templates (Figure 8).

Figure 7. When the Graphics Templates panel is expanded to full screen (Window > Maximize Frame), you can see many templates available for customization.
Figure 8. Adobe Stock offers a wide array of additional free templates. Click the Premium option to see more available for purchase.

Traditional video assets

Other assets you can create in Premiere may not be as obvious but are useful standard video elements. Choose File > New or click New Item in the Project panel (lower right) to see the list: Bars And Tone, Black Video, Color Matte, Universal Counting Leader, and Transparent Video (Figures 9 and 10). As a new user, you’ll most likely need Black Video or Color Matte only. You can use Black Video to create a placeholder or a background for text. If you prefer colored placeholder frames or backgrounds, use Color Matte instead. 

Figure 9. Premiere offers shortcuts to create several common types of video content. Choose File > New; the content options are at the bottom of the list.
Figure 10. Click New Item in the Project panel to see a list of video content types that Premiere enables you to create.

Adjustment layers

You can modify the appearance of video tracks using another type of asset: an adjustment layer. To create one, choose File > New > Adjustment Layer or click New Item in the Project panel and select Adjustment Layer (Figures 11 and 12). When using the File menu method, make sure the Project panel is selected (it has a thin blue line around it), otherwise the Adjustment Layer option will be grayed out. 

Figure 11. When you create an adjustment layer from the File menu, be sure the Project panel is selected (indicated by a blue highlight).
Figure 12. To create an adjustment layer, click New Item in the Project panel and select Adjustment Layer.

Like Photoshop adjustment layers, the effects on Premiere adjustment layers affect the layers below them. In Premiere, however, you can apply multiple effects to a single adjustment layer to enhance the layers below.

Animating Still Images

You can also create video content starting with a still image. Premiere includes features for animating properties such as Position, Scale, and Opacity in addition to a large selection of video effects.

If you need more sophisticated animation or effects, you can send a selected clip from a Premiere sequence to After Effects by either choosing File > Dynamic Link > Replace With After Effects Composition or right-clicking the selected clip and selecting Replace With After Effects Composition (Figures 13 and 14.)

Figure 13. To modify a clip within After Effects, select the clip on the timeline and choose File > Adobe Dynamic Link > Replace With After Effects Composition.
Figure 14. You can also right-click a clip and select Replace With After Effects Composition from the context menu to modify the clip within After Effects.

Although adding After Effects animation is outside the scope of this article, in general, you apply effects to the clip, save it, and return to Premiere. Then the clip in the Premiere sequence is automatically updated with the changes applied in After Effects. In the Premiere timeline, the clip from After Effects appears in rose to indicate it was transferred with Dynamic Link (Figure 15). If you’d like to customize the colors that indicate the different types of assets in the timeline, you can go to Premiere > Settings > Labels on macOS or Edit > Preferences > Labels on Windows.

Figure 15. When a clip is replaced with an After Effects composition, the color of the clip in the Premiere timeline changes to rose.

Generating AI Video Using Firefly

If you don’t have recorded video, stock video, or animated content that will work for your project, you can use the text-to-video capabilities of Adobe Firefly, available directly on the web (Figure 16) or via Adobe’s website (Figure 17). Enter a prompt or upload a reference image for Firefly, and it will create a five-second video for you.

Figure 16. Adobe Firefly offers a variety of options for generating content, including video.
Figure 17. You can access a simplified version of Firefly on Adobe’s website.

To create a video in Firefly, choose New > Generate New Video (or click Create), and in the menu beneath the Prompt, choose Video (Figures 18 and 19).

Figure 18. To create a video from a prompt in Firefly, choose New > Generate New Video or click Create.
Figure 19. Choose Video, then enter your prompt. Click Generate, and Firefly will create a five-second video.

Enter your prompt, then click Generate. If you choose New > Create New Video instead, then Firefly will open the Video Editor page (currently in beta). Here you have more control over how the new video is created: You can enter a prompt, set the AI model to generate the video, select the aspect ratio, add an optional reference image for the first frame, and add an optional reference image for the end frame. If you click More, Firefly will take you to the Generate Video page where you can access additional settings that vary based on which AI model you select (Figure 20).

Figure 20. From the Firefly Video Editor, click More to access additional settings that vary based on which AI model you select.

Tip: When deciding which AI model you want to select, it may help to consult the Partner Models in Adobe Products page for text-to-video partners to evaluate the qualities that each features.

Each AI video clip is Firefly generates is 5 seconds. If you’d like to make a longer sequence, add the last frame of the generated video as the reference image for the next prompt. Repeat as needed. You can then assemble all the clips together in Premiere.

Creating generative AI content using Firefly usually requires generative credits with some exceptions for promotions. On average, generating video requires more credits than generating an image. To see how many credits are required, consult the How many generative credits do premium features use? section of Adobe’s Generative credits FAQ page.

Note: In addition to going to Firefly.com to generate video, you can now use the Generative Media Tool in Premiere version 26.5, introduced in September 2026.

Extending a Clip Using Generative AI 

Sometimes you may find the almost perfect clip for your project, but it’s too short to fill the space where you need to put it. The new Generative Extend feature in Premiere can help you out. This feature can add up to two seconds of content to your clip, but it comes at a hefty cost of generative credits. Single app plans and the Creative Cloud Standard plan come with only 25 credits per month, so you’ll need a plan that offers premium feature access and ample credits to use Generative Extend. 

More Premiere Tips

Now that you’re familiar with how to import, acquire, customize, and create your own video content, I hope you’ll see what you can make with Premiere. If you need a little more help and instruction to get started, please see my Members-Only Video: Getting Started in Adobe Premiere (Figure 21). 

Figure 21. Check out the members-only video Getting Started in Adobe Premiere by Myra Ferguson in Issue #52 of CreativePro Magazine.

Bookmark
Please login to bookmark Close

Not a member yet?

Get unlimited access to articles and member-only resources with a CreativePro membership.

Become a Member

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading comments...